No news available.

Is It Too Late to Start Stage 1?


Meaningful Use Basics

Meaningful Use is calculated on a per-provider basis, not per-clinic. If there are multiple providers in a clinic, every eligible professional participates individually.

Each provider chooses to participate in either the Medicare program or the Medicaid program. Eligibility for the Medicaid program is restricted by certain criteria Learn More


Eligible professionals for Medicare:

  • Eligible professionals under the Medicare EHR Incentive Program include Doctor of medicine or osteopathy, Doctor of dental surgery or dental medicine, Doctor of podiatry, Doctor of optometry, and Chiropractors.
  • Nurse practitioners and physician assistants are NOT eligible to participate in the Medicare EHR Incentive program

Eligible professionals for Medicaid:

  • Eligible professionals under the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program include Physicians (primarily doctors of medicine and doctors of osteopathy), Nurse practitioner, Certified nurse-midwife, Dentist, and Physician assistant who furnishes services in a Federally Qualified Health Center or Rural Health Clinic that is led by a physician assistant.

Stage 1 Information

Reporting period:

MU objectives:

  • 14 core objectives (required) and 10 menu set objectives, from which the provider must choose 5, for a total of 19
  • Provider must also report on Clinical Quality Measures (CQMs): 3 core, up to 3 alternate core if any of the core have zeros in the denominators, and 3 additional for a total of 6 (or 9, if reporting all 3 of the alternate core because all 3 core have zeros)
  • See the Objectives

Incentive payments:

  • If a provider begins meeting MU in 2014 or earlier, s/he is eligible for incentive payments that are equal to 75% of the provider’s Part B Medicare billed services, up to a maximum amount specified by CMS.